Skip to content

Top 5 Favorite Books

June 12, 2009

Because I am a huge dork, I keep a list of all the books I really love so that when someone asks for recommendations, I can just copy and paste.  It’s a lot easier than trying to remember names and authors off the top of my head when on the spot.

It’s hard for me to say which books are my actual top favorites, because you love so many for different reasons.  Or you love one book, but don’t particularly care for the ending or some piece of  it or you love two books but in very different ways or for different reasons.  And sometimes it’s just had to compare apples and oranges, so picking one over another can be difficult.   But, all this aside, below are my top 5 favorite books – subject to change at any given moment 🙂 :

The Wind Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami – Set in Japan, a very odd story of a Japanese man and his bizarre journey to find his wife.  It’s very strange, but very good.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – Set in America in the future when crazy religious zealots have taken over the country.

The Rapture of Canaan by Sheri Reynolds – A young girl and her family are part of a cult – the Church of Fire and Brimstone and God’s Almighty Baptizing Wind.

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – In 1959, a missionary preacher takes his wife and four daughters to Africa to try to convert the natives of the Belgian Congo.

The Dogs of Babel by Carolyn Parkhurst – Their dog is the only witness to Lexy’s death, so her loving husband sets out to try to teach the dog to speak to learn what happened.  Sounds crazy, but it’s fantastic.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen S. permalink
    June 28, 2009 8:51 pm

    I completely agree with “The Handmaid’s Tale” – one of my absolute favorites! “Dogs of Babel” was good, too. I’m making myself a list of books to read while I’m reading your blog! 🙂

  2. March 28, 2011 5:29 pm

    I should make a list of all my favorite books too!

Trackbacks

  1. Currently Reading: Atwood’s “The Year of the Flood” « Books – Sliced & Diced

Leave a Reply

