Skip to content

The Huntington Library

July 26, 2009

Last March, I visited the Huntington Libary in San Marino, CA.  Besides the library, which houses original texts of works like the Canterbury Tales, Hamlet and Paradise Lost, the gardens on the property are absolutely beautiful.

There are more than a dozen garden areas including the Japanese Garden, the English Garden and the Desert Garden.  These gardens include more than 14,000 different kinds of plants and are completely amazing to experience.  I bought a book (big surprise) and set up shop reading on a bench in the Desert Garden, just reading and experiencing the beautiful gardens.  I’d have to say the Desert Garden was my favorite, with its incredible varieties of cactuses.

But, of course, the Libary is amazing in and of itself.  Seeing original texts of Shakespeare and Chaucer is unreal.  No matter how long I looked at them, I just couldn’t take it all in.

My favorite, the Desert Garden

My favorite, the Desert Garden

Japenese Garden

Japanese Garden

Paradise Lost

Paradise Lost

Canterbury Tales

Canterbury Tales

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 6:14 pm

    I managed a visit back in March and loved it there. My partner is a big gardener and I must say I really enjoyed the succulent garden. I think I spent more time there than the library. Which is highly unusual for me.

Trackbacks

  1. Where do you like to read? « Books – Sliced & Diced

Leave a Reply

