Skip to content

Historical Fiction Favorites

September 3, 2009

I read all kinds of fiction but quite a few of my all-time favorites are historical fiction.  I always think of how much time and effort the author put into researching the time period and events and making sure the story falls in the correct timeline and place in history.

Here are some of my favorite historical fiction works:

  • The Red Tent by Anita Diamant – The story of the women in biblical times.
  • The Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant – Set in the 1490’s, Alessandra is a smart and talented artist.  Trying to keep her independence, study and learn to paint is a challenge in a male-driven world where Alessandra’s only role should be marriage and motherhood.
  • The Girl with the Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier – Set around 1630 or so in Holland, Vermeer paints one of his famous paintings.
  • The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory – This is the story of Henry VIII before and during his marriage to Anne Boleyn.  Anne, her sister Mary and their brother George are all brought to the king’s court at a young age, as players in their uncle’s plans to advance the family’s fortunes.

Do you have any historical fiction favorites?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 1:55 pm

    Hey Kim, I see this is an old post but I thought I’d respond anyway. I’ve recently been getting into historical fiction books, as I am writing one myself. I loved “Pillars of the Earth” by Ken Follet and “The Pale Horseman” by Bernard Cornwell.

    I’d love for you to take a look at my own writing, some of which is posted at http://talesofmercia.wordpress.com . I think it might be your kind of thing!

Leave a Reply

