Skip to content

My Life in France, Julia Child

September 12, 2009

Everyonejulia-child-my-life-in-france has been buzzing about the movie Julie & Julia so I thought I’d grab a copy of My Life in France, Julia Child’s autobiography, since it makes up much of the storyline for the movie.  I had some strong feelings about the book, so I conferred with a friend who really enjoyed it to make sure I wasn’t being too harsh.

My friend and I both agreed that Julia Child was a revolutionary woman.  In the 1940’s Julia traveled to China, married her husband, moved to France and then Germany.  They were a open-minded and liberal couple who were certainly ahead of their time.  In France, while most women were content to be housewives, Julia discovered her love of cooking and jumped in head first, attending the Cordon Bleu, teaching cooking classes and co-writing her cookbook.  For these reasons, I admire Julia Child.

But, I have to say, Julia Child does not seem to me to be a very nice person.  She is pretty ruthless cutting out one of the co-writers of the cookbook, she notes that her father’s death was a “relief” and she says some pretty nasty things about many of her “friends.”  I could go on and on, but basically, the book left me thinking that Julia Child wasn’t a very nice person, so regardless of how revolutionary or ahead of her time she may have been, I don’t really care for her.

I will say that the book was entertaining; I loved reading about France in the 1940’s and many of her recipes and adventures in cooking were interesting as well.  My Life in France is a good depiction of French food and a not-so-nice woman who made a career of it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 3:25 pm

    Ouch. I’m glad the book was fun overall though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

