Skip to content

A Wild Haruki Chase: Reading Murakami Around the World

December 29, 2009

My brother is a freshman in college and gets to choose a literature elective.  One of his options is Japanese literature, which I’m sure would include something by Haruki Murakami.  I told my brother he should absolutely sign up for this class, since Murakami is one of my favorites.   I read Wind Up Bird Chronicle in college and have been addicted ever since.

My brother is one of the most thoughtful people I know, which is pretty impressive for an 18 year old boy.  He knows I love Murakami and tried to get A Wild Haruki Chase for me for Christmas.  He couldn’t get it in time, but as soon as he told me about it, I ordered it from my local bookstore.

Murakami’s works have been translated into 40 different languages and A Wild Haruki Chase sets out to discover “what lies behind this phenomenal international appeal.”  I cannot wait to start reading this book because I think it’ll bring a whole new dimension to Murakami’s works.  Hopefully, 1Q84 will be translated into English soon and I can read it with a  new outlook on and insight into Murakami.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

