Skip to content

Loved the book, hated the movie

January 14, 2010

Many books are made into films and I’m usually disappointed in the results.  At the bookstore, I cringe when I see the new “Hollywood” covers for the books I loved – Scarlett Johansson plastered across the front instead of the classic cover.  It may be because I am usually so in love with the book, that I don’t want anything changed in the movie, which I understand is pretty unrealistic.

I saw this article about the new Lovely Bones movie and the author was utterly disappointed in the film.  Now, I may be the only person in the world who did not like The Lovely Bones book (I found it much too sappy and too Lifetime-movie-ish), but I actually thought the book would make a fairly decent movie for those who enjoyed the story.  It has all the right Hollywood elements: sorrow, suspense, touching themes.  The author of the article says that the film needed to be “more thoughtful” to better represent the book.  I won’t be checking out the movie to see how I feel, but I will chalk this up to another instance of a film not being able to do a novel justice.

Did you read The Lovely Bones?  Will you be checking out the movie?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Moniz permalink
    January 20, 2010 8:38 pm

    Not sure if I will see the movie, but I did enjoy the book.

  2. Audrey W. permalink
    January 20, 2010 11:03 pm

    I read the book quite a few years ago and although I don’t remember every aspect of the book, I remember the basic concept and I enjoyed it. I was a bit disappointed when I saw that they were making a movie out of it. Can’t they come up with new movies instead of making books into movies? I won’t be checking out the movie.

  3. Gina permalink
    January 21, 2010 12:54 pm

    I won’t see ‘The Lovely Bones’ for the same reason I can’t bring myself to see ‘My Sister’s Keeper’. As an avid reader, I have yet to find one book that was translated well to the screen. I’ve read everything Stephen King has ever written, and been disappointed with every movie.

    One movie I thought was done as well as could be expected – ‘The Devil Wears Prada’.

  4. Mike Fearon permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:13 am

    I’ll probably check it out on DVD – I’ve got to believe that Peter Jackson knows a thing or two about transforming book to screen after directing Lord of the Rings.

    Movies based on books generally get a bad rap. My advice is to view them as two separate entities and that should hopefully help with your experience.

    One book I’m nervous about is World War Z (that would be an oral history of the Zombie War – nerd alert!) With any oral history, there are a number of very unique stories that are told and I’m not sure it could translate to one feature film (or stay true under one production team). I’d rather see it treated as an anthology miniseries as opposed to one movie – I’d probably have a better chance at seeing what I want with my own “sweded” version. Yes, I’ll see the real version either way.

    That’s my two cents – thanks for the thought provoking post!

Leave a Reply

