Skip to content

Unfinished Friday – The Bean Trees

January 15, 2010

Barbara Kingsolver’s Poisonwood Bible is one of my favorites.  I decided to check out her other novels, convinced I would be just as excited about them.  But I’ve yet to find another Kingsolver novel that I liked nearly as much.

I grabbed The Bean Trees from the bookstore and eagerly got reading.  The main character, Marietta Greer, leaves home, changes her name to Taylor and inherits a baby.  At first, I was interested.  Then, I was a little bored, but plugging away.  Slowly, I was dreading picking it up.  Finally, I gave up and put it aside.  I’m not sure why really.  Maybe the story moved a little slowly for me.  Maybe I didn’t really like Marietta, AKA Taylor.  Maybe I couldn’t relate (she up and leaves home without a dollar – that is way too irresponsible for me 🙂 ).

The Bean Trees wasn’t for me, but I still do love Kingsolver.  I’ve heard great things about Prodigal Summer, The Lacuna and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and will definitely be giving her another try.

Unfinished Friday is the brain child of The Boston Bibliophile.
One Comment leave one →
  1. John permalink
    January 20, 2010 10:04 pm

    Well done for trying, I generally give up after the first chapter if I don’t warm to the main character!

Leave a Reply

