Skip to content

Surprise! Fingersmith

January 20, 2010

My aunt gave me this book with a post-it on the front that read, “My favorite! – lots of surprises!”  I’m not finished yet (its a 550+ page book) but am delighted with the twists and turns so far.

We are introduced to three main characters: Sue, Maud and Gentleman.  Maud is sheltered and strange and lives with her eccentric and kind of scary uncle at an estate called Briar, maybe 40 miles outside of London.  Gentleman is the villain who convinces Sue to help him swindle Maud out of her fortune.  But Sarah Waters has crafted a truly surprising story and no one is quite so cut-and-dry.

I’m really enjoying Fingersmith and cannot wait to see what other surprises Waters has in store.  Also, I heard Fingersmith was made into a movie in 2005.  You know how I feel about books-into-movies, but I think I may have to give this one a try.

Stay tuned for a full review!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Audrey W. permalink
    January 20, 2010 11:07 pm

    Let me know how this turns out…it sounds really good.

    Speaking of 550+ page books, have you read the Thornbirds? I read it when I was a teen and loved it. It’s a favorite among my mom, sister and me.

  2. Jenn E. permalink
    January 20, 2010 11:46 pm

    There is nothing better than reading a book that someone you know personally recommends. It always leaves me trying to figure out which parts they were intrigued by the most and why they felt so strongly. I can’t wait for the full review, this sounds great!

Leave a Reply

