Skip to content

To Read: More Haruki Murakami

January 28, 2010

I’ve often talked about how much I love Haruki Murakami.  I’ve been reading A Wild Haruki Chase: Reading Murakami Around the World, which focuses on how his works are translated in different regions.  As I read, I realize I have a lot of catching up to do on Murakami’s works.  I loved Wind Up Bird Chronicle, Kafka By the Shore and Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, but there are so many more Murakami books that I haven’t yet enjoyed.  My goal for 2010 is to cross off each Murakami book from my “to read” list.

I’ll be using this list of Murakami works throughout 2010:

  • Pinball, 1973
  • Hear the Wind Sing
  • A Wild Sheep Chase
  • Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World
  • Dance Dance Dance
  • The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
  • Norwegian Wood
  • Sputnik Sweetheart
  • South of the Border, West of the Sun
  • Kafka on the Shore
  • After Dark
  • 1Q84 – scheduled release in English in 2011

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 1:18 pm

    Good luck for meeting your 2010 target. I’m currently reading Kafka on the Shore, my third Murakami and get hooked on to him even more with each book.

  2. joshsuds permalink
    September 17, 2010 3:05 pm

    I like the goal! I can’t seem to stop reading his books either. I just finished reading South of the Border, West of the Sun last week.

    http://joshsuds.wordpress.com

  3. November 23, 2010 10:45 pm

    Love the goal, I’m excited to know next years as well (^__^). My first ever Murakami was After Dark and fell in love with his writing from the first chapter- Mari is someone who I can definitely associate with.Living in Sydney, books are quite expensive so I resort to borrowing a lot from the local public library. I recently borrowed wind up bird chronicle. Excited to hear your updates =))

  4. September 15, 2011 2:11 pm

    I’m a big Murakami fan and have read all of the books you’ve listed except for the first two “Pinball, 1973” and “Hear the Wind Sing” and of course 1Q84 as that’s not published till next month. To be honest I didn’t know those first two books even existed as you never see them in bookshops in the UK and I don’t think they’re listed as available by the author inside the other books. So, where can I find Pinball and Hear the Wind and are they worth seeking out?

Leave a Reply

