Skip to content

Lazy Saturday Book Finds

January 30, 2010

It’s been pretty cold here in Boston, so today I didn’t really even want to get out of my pajamas, never mind leave the house.  But, I did make it out for a little while and took a trip to Harvard Book Store.  What I love about this store, besides the fact that it’s an independent book store, is the large selection of used books.

One of my goals for 2010 is to read the Murakami books I’ve yet to enjoy, so I picked up a copy of Norwegian Wood.  This Murakami classic focuses on Tokyo student Toru Watanabe and his relationships with two very different women.  I think I may wait to read this one, though, until I’ve read Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman, since part of this tale originally appeared there.

Desperate Characters by Paula Fox, a hit in 1970 and out of print for many years since, caught my eye.  It’s described as “a perfect short novel…a few characters, a small stretch of time; setting and action tightly confined.”  This description reminded me of Ian McEwan’s On Chesil Beach, which contained a powerful story in a concise text, which I really enjoyed.

Speaking of Ian McEwan, the last book I selected was Amsterdam. Brought together by a common past lover, Clive and Vernon begin considering their own mortality and make a “euthanasia pact.”  The one review I read after bringing the book home mentioned that we can deduce how the novel will end, we just don’t know who will kill whom.  Jeez, I hadn’t thought of that when I read the back of the book at the store.  Maybe I am a little slow?

I also tried to find Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye but it seems as though everyone else in the Boston area had that same idea as well.  With no copies available, I put in an order.  I read this fabulous book in high school and have been in love ever since.  I wish it hadn’t taken Salinger’s death for me to pick up a copy for my library and reread it, but I’m excited to enjoy this wonderful classic again.  Should arrive in two weeks!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Comments leave one →
  1. elizabeth permalink
    January 31, 2010 5:31 pm

    Hey Kim. I love the Harvard bookstore too and have spent many hours there (especially during winter!). Great used art books – perfect gifts for my mom and sister- and I love finding books that seem like they must go with fabulous classes, like the encyclopedia of cheese I picked up a couple of months ago!

  2. Real CM permalink
    February 3, 2010 10:42 pm

    I think you should add a section that chronicles and lists the best book stores in the country so people can find new places to stop in when they travel.

  3. Kimberly permalink*
    February 3, 2010 10:46 pm

    I like that idea! Look for a post soon!

Leave a Reply

