Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: Ian McEwan’s Solar

February 3, 2010

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

I was first introduced to Ian McEwan when a friend at the bookstore suggested On Chesil Beach, which became one of my favorites. Also, I just picked up Amsterdam this past weekend, so when I saw that McEwan has a new novel, Solar,  I was very interested.  Due for release in March, Solar has been sited as a humorous novel, although it focuses on a heavy topic, climate change and global warming. I’ve enjoyed previous McEwan novels and I’m a bit of a recycling freak, so Solar seems perfect for me 🙂

According to McEwan’s website, this new novel will center on Michael Beard, a bald, overweight man is in his late fifties.  He’s  a Nobel prize-winning physicist who has passed his heyday.  Personally, his marriage is failing and professionally he is the half-hearted leader of a government-backed global warming initiative.  But everything changes when Michael’s professional and personal worlds collide and he has the opportunity to “save the world from environmental disaster.”

Solar is definitely on my “to-read” list and I’m hoping it’ll live up to my high expectations for McEwan.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 10:38 pm

    I really want to read this book as well; great pick!

  2. February 3, 2010 11:37 pm

    I really, really, really need to read this author. Going on the list…great pick!

  3. February 4, 2010 12:27 am

    I keep resisting McEwan because he’s everywhere. But there’s got to be a reason, I know! I really need to give in and at least try one of his books sometime.

  4. February 4, 2010 9:23 am

    Oh, this does sound good! I haven’t read anything by McEwan yet, but I have “Atonement” and “On Chesil Beach” on my TBR stacks.

    Thanks for sharing this.

  5. February 6, 2010 4:50 pm

    Funny enough this book was on my previous WoW list. McEwan is one of my favourites. I’ve read and enjoyed Black Dogs, Atonement, Enduring Love, On Chesil Beach, and Saturday, my personal favourite. So glad you discovered him. I look forward to your thoughts on Solar.

  6. February 11, 2010 12:05 am

    I’ve read many of McEwan’s book and I think On Chesil Beach is not only my favorite McEwan, it is one of my all time favorites period.

  7. July 29, 2010 11:20 am

    Have you read it yet? Solar was my first taste of McEwan and I quite enjoyed it. I did my own review for Chuckpalahniuk.net

    http://thejamminjabber.com/2010/07/29/the-sun-shines-out-ian-mcewans-ass-solar/

Leave a Reply

