Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: The Ask by Sam Lipsyte

February 10, 2010

I stumbled upon this novel, to be released in March, on About.com and I think it looks really interesting.

Amazon’s review calls The Ask a “pitch-black comedy [that] takes aim at marriage, work, parenting, abject failure…and a host of subjects you haven’t figured out how to feel bad about yet.”  I like pitch-black comedies!  I like to take aim at everyday things!  Sam Lipsyte seems cool to me.

The novel focuses on Milo Burke who is a passed-his-prime painter living in Astoria, NY, with his wife and young son.  He works at a university where he solicits funds from the “Asks,” those who financially support the art program.  The Ask is a “merciless assault on the duel between privilege and expectation.”   It sounds heavy, but since Lipsyte’s novel Home Land (which also looks really good and I’m adding to my “to read” list) was described as a “hilarious rant,” I’m sure The Ask will take a similar approach.

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 11:39 am

    Sounds like an interesting pick. My WOW is at The Crowded Leaf.

  2. February 10, 2010 3:23 pm

    Sounds interesting! Hopefully the author injects a lot of humor while he writes about Milo.

  3. February 10, 2010 6:34 pm

    I put this on my list. Thanks for featuring it because I hadn’t heard of it before today.

  4. February 11, 2010 2:33 am

    Sounds really interesting. I haven’t heard of the author, but I’ll have to check this one out

Leave a Reply

