Skip to content

Reading: Home Land

February 23, 2010

I first discovered Home Land by Sam Lipsyte when I saw that his new book, The Ask, is due out in March.  I finally got to the library this weekend to pick up a copy and I’m finding it hilarious.  I worked at a college and was responsible for going through the class notes that alumni submitted, so maybe that is also why I find Home Land so funny.

According to Good Reads:

The Eastern Valley High School Alumni newsletter, Catamount Notes, is bursting with tales of success; former students include a bankable politician and a famous baseball star, not to mention a major-label recording artist. Then there is the appalling, yet utterly lovable Lewis Miner, class of ’89 – a.k.a. Teabag – who did not pan out. This is his confession in all its bitter, lovelorn glory.

So far, good ol’ Lewis has quipped things like “Making do. Like the Donner party” and “I’ve been meaning to write The Seven Habits of Highly Disappointed People, which I could probably bang out in an afternoon if I weren’t so busy updating you fine people.”  This guy cracks me up and I’m only on page 37.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jen S. permalink
    February 27, 2010 9:26 am

    Ha ha – I would love to read some of those alumni updates. I’ll bet they’re hilarious! I’ll have to add this book to my list, too.

Leave a Reply

