Skip to content

Porter Square Books

March 1, 2010

Like I’ve mentioned before, I love local, independent bookstores.  Porter Square Books is right down the street from my house and I’ve spent countless hours checking out their Indie Next tables, looking through the children’s section for books for my nephews and browsing the local section for cool Boston books.

For my mom’s birthday recently I grabbed a copy of Boston Foot Notes, which chronicles various walks through the city that “educate and entertain.”  My mom really likes to come to Boston, so I thought these walks would give us lots of options for seeing the city in a fun way.  I also got my five-year-old nephew Archie and the Pirates because he’s been really into pirates lately.

From workshops to author readings and signings, there is an event at Porter Square Books nearly every day.  The atmosphere at the store is awesome – the staff is super helpful and friendly and the small cafe is the perfect place to have a coffee and pastry while deciding which books to take home.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn E. permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:42 pm

    I love this bookstore. I think they have a really great selection of autobiographies and non-fiction books. Thanks for profiling this great little neighborhood joint!

  2. Katie D permalink
    March 3, 2010 9:12 am

    I am going to check this place out. Have you been to the Brookline Booksmith in Coolidge Corner? That place is great! Great deals and fun set up. I used to go there at least once a week when I lived in CC.

  3. Wyatt permalink
    March 5, 2010 4:32 pm

    I just found this place and it is a great little place.

Leave a Reply

