Skip to content

Haikus for a Friend

March 3, 2010

One of the things I like most about my job is the wonderful group of people I work with.  Tomorrow marks the last day for one of my  favorite coworkers.  She is one of the funniest and entertaining, friendliest and caring people I know and I am going to miss her smiling face each morning.  But I digress.  One of the awesomly quirky things about Laura is that she loves haikus, so I review this book with her in mind.  I’ll miss you tons, Laura, but know that I’ll still see your smiling face, just a tad less frequently 🙂

Haiku: This Other World by Richard Wright is a wonderful collection of  poetry.  These 800+ haikus are mostly previously unpublished works that focus largely on nature.  Wright has a way of painting a magical picture in just seventeen syllables: “Under a low sky / A boy walking with a dog / In the spring rain.”  Wright sees beauty and awe in the simplicity of nature and he translates this amazingly well to the reader.

Wright is perhaps best known as a powerful spokesperson and author for the African American community.  He was introduced to the haiku form shortly before his death, but wrote 4,000 haikus in the year or two before he died.  Many believe that the short poetry form allowed Wright to come to terms with his illness and impending death.

I really enjoy reading Wright’s haikus because I love how they highlight the simple wonders of nature.  Wright is able to make the tiniest observation perfectly illustrate the feeling of each season and I really appreciate that.

This well-thumbed novel

Was the tale she loved best, –

Fields of autumn rain.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura Nelson permalink
    March 4, 2010 10:16 am

    Kim, I am touched!! Thank you so much for the shout-out on your blog, friend- I’ll miss you too, know that we’ll stay in touch 🙂 Also, I know I can always keep up with you here on your blog when I need a dose of KimmieKM!

  2. March 5, 2010 10:52 am

    Awwwww. You two are a-dorable.

Leave a Reply

