Skip to content

National Book Critics Circle Award

March 12, 2010

The National Book Critics Circle Awards were announced yesterday. These awards honor the best books of the year in six different categories.  The National Book Critics Circle, founded in 1974, is a nonprofit organization consisting of more than 600 active book reviewers.

The 2009 winners are:

Fiction: Hilary Mantel, Wolf Hall

General Nonfiction: Richard Holmes, The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science

Biography: Blake Bailey, Cheever: A Life

Autobiography: Diana Athill, Somewhere Towards the End: A Memoir

Poetry: Rae Armantrout, Versed

Criticism: Eula Biss, Notes From No Man’s Land: American Essays

The fiction winner, Wolf Hall, is a historical novel about Henry VIII and his court, centering on his adviser Thomas Cromwell. This novel was also awarded the Man Booker Prize for 2009.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: