Skip to content

What to read next?

March 24, 2010

So I’ve been reading In the Land of Believers for an obscene amount of time.  It’s not that I don’t like it; in fact, I like it very much.  But for some reason this book has been taking me forever to complete.  I have a pile of books on my nightstand that are waiting for me to read, but I’m not sure which one I’ll pick up next.  What do you think?

  1. Waiting by Ha Jin – Set in 17th century Holland, Van Loos comes to paint Sophia, the pretty young wife of wealthy burger Cornelius Sandvoort, which starts a train of events that will irredeemably change all their lives.
  2. Tulip Fever by Deborah Moggach – Lin Kong is a Chinese army doctor trapped in an arranged marriage.  He falls in love with Manna, a nurse at his hospital, but needs to wait 18 years in order to divorce his wife and be with Manna.
  3. Amsterdam by Ian McEwan – Brought together by a common past lover, Clive and Vernon begin considering their own mortality and make a “euthanasia pact.”
  4. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami – This novel focuses on Tokyo student Toru Watanabe and his relationships with two very different women.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

