Skip to content

To Read: On the Road, Jack Kerouac

April 23, 2010

I leave for San Francisco bright and early tomorrow morning (6am, but let’s not talk about that because I love sleep). I am pretty excited about my trip –  I’m dying to see Alcatraz (I remember watching Escape from Alcatraz with my dad years ago), really want to walk across the Golden Gate, and would love to peruse Haight Street. I also got some great restaurant recommendations from a co-worker this week.

San Francisco has a great literary story and I’m excited to see where Jack Kerouac hung out and where Allen Ginsberg wrote. While brushing up on the best places to visit in SF, I started reading about Kerouac’s On the Road, which I haven’t read yet.  I’m hoping to pick up a copy at City Lights Bookstore, which is known for supporting and publishing progressive books, which I love 🙂

I just finished Amsterdam (review coming soon) and am packing Tulip Fever for my trip. I’m officially adding On the Road to my “To Read” list, so be on the lookout for that post.

From Goodreads:

On The Road, the most famous of Jack Kerouac’s works, is not only the soul of the Beat movement and literature, but one of the most important novels of the century. Like nearly all of Kerouac’s writing, On The Road is thinly fictionalized autobiography, filled with a cast made of Kerouac’s real life friends, lovers, and fellow travelers. Narrated by Sal Paradise, one of Kerouac’s alter-egos, On the Road is a cross-country bohemian odyssey that not only influenced writing in the years since its 1957 publication but penetrated into the deepest levels of American thought and culture.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dana permalink
    April 23, 2010 11:13 pm

    Have a great trip!

  2. April 27, 2010 10:56 am

    I will make my On the Road comment after you have finished it…

  3. Cara Foley permalink
    April 27, 2010 4:54 pm

    I am seriously impressed by this blog! I hope you also review Olive Kitteridge soon – I REALLY think you’ll like it!

Leave a Reply

