Skip to content

Friday Finds: People of the Book

May 28, 2010

We have a cardboard box in the kitchen of my office filled with books.  People drop in books they’ve finished or have never gotten to and take some other offerings left by co-workers.  I was browsing through the box the other day (waiting for my raisin bread to toast) and spotted People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks.

From my time working at the bookstore, I remember this book being popular, but I didn’t know too much about it.  After reading the blurb on the back, I decided this will be my Memorial Day weekend read.

From Geraldine Brooks’ website:

Inspired by the true story of a mysterious codex known as the Sarajevo Haggadah, People of the Book is a sweeping adventure through five centuries of history. From its creation in Muslim-ruled, medieval Spain, the illuminated manuscript makes a series of perilous journeys: through Inquisition-era Venice, fin-de-siecle Vienna, and the Nazi sacking of Sarajevo.

What are you Friday Finds for this long weekend?

**Friday Finds is hosted by Should Be Reading

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 4:23 pm

    I added this one to my list after loving Year of Wonders but haven’t got to it yet. Hope you enjoy it.

  2. May 28, 2010 7:42 pm

    That looks awesome! I’m adding it to my wishlist.

  3. May 29, 2010 11:21 am

    Good find!

    Here’s mine

  4. June 1, 2010 3:11 am

    I’m picking this up at the library this week. I’ve had it on hold for a while and I just got an email that it came in!

  5. June 10, 2010 4:37 pm

    Did you get a chance to read this over Memorial Day? It was one of my fav books last year–I loved the stories about the book’s origin and where it had been over the years.

Leave a Reply

