Skip to content

Boston Book Festival

June 10, 2010

I just stumbled upon the Boston Book Festival.  Apparently this year will be the second annual, which means that I missed out on the first annual, which I was kind of disappointed about.  What was I doing last October that was so important that I missed this fabulous festival?

Everything about this festival sounds awesome.  Apparently more than 20,000 people from all over New England come to Copley to hear presentations by renowned authors, browse the exhibitors and check out the street fair.

This year the festival will take place on October 16 (ok, ok I know I’m crazy early), but they just announced a new initiative for this year called One City One Story.  This is awesome:

We will distribute, free of charge, 30,000 bound copies of a short story by a well-known Boston author. With the aim of making literature accessible, One City One Story gives a new spin to all-city reading groups. The author will appear at the BBF on October 16 and will lead discussions of the story.

I’ve signed up for the Boston Book Festival newsletter so I am sure to be in the know on everything Festival until October.  I’m also following them on Twitter and liked them on Facebook.  Ok, so I’m a little obsessive.  I love books, I love Boston, I love good causes.  What’s the harm in that?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 10:59 am

    So cool! Oct 16th I’ll be there 🙂

  2. June 23, 2010 8:17 pm

    Hi! I was at the first festival and can’t wait for the next. (Actually, the Boston Globe had one of some sort but when this new committee took over, it has become THE event for all Boston literati and then some, so I am told.)
    We’ll probably attempt a book blogger event, too. I know quite a few Boston area book bloggers and I hope to meet more.

  3. June 23, 2010 8:18 pm

    Oops – as the comment above posted, I realized that I didn’t use my BOOKISH site…

Leave a Reply

