Skip to content

Best Quote Ever

July 23, 2010

I’ve been reading Murakami’s Norwegian Wood and absolutely fell in love with this quote:

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”

It wasn’t until I was out of college, working and moved to Boston that I think I really understood the value of questioning things and thinking for myself.  I had always been comfortable to just stay inside the ideas and values that I’d grown up with.  But as I got older and met new people I realized that I had every right, maybe even an obligation, to question things and think for myself.  Reading opens you up to ideas, thoughts and situations that you never would have encountered otherwise, which allows you to think through things you may never have before.  I think it’s so important to continually reevaluate your ideas and think through what others may have to say.  That is exactly what this quote makes me think of and I think its wonderful 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 3:41 pm

    What a fantastic quote! I read Murakami’s Wind Up Bird Chronicle over two years ago and have been meaning to check out Norwegian Wood myself, but I feel like I have to be in the right mindset to read him.

Leave a Reply

