Skip to content

Solar by Ian McEwan

July 26, 2010

Back in February I learned that Ian McEwan’s newest novel Solar would be released in March and I was excited to read it.  I really liked On Chesil Beach and thought Amsterdam was interesting, so I hoped that the green tech aspect of Solar combined with McEwan’s writing style would make for a fantastic read.  I didn’t not like the book, but I was a little disappointed.

The novel focuses on physics expert Michael Beard, who is a serial husband, cheater, liar and all around unlikable guy.  He gets involved with an organization focusing on solar energy even though he has little interest in saving the world.  Through a series of random events, he begins work on a solar energy plan that involves photosynthesis. I didn’t care for Michael Beard, but I don’t think McEwan wants us to.  The book works well even if we dislike the main character and in a way are routing for his failure.  I was often annoyed that things worked out so well for him when all I really wanted was for him to fail miserably.

I like to read McEwan.  His writing style is great and he tells the best stories.  There was one scene on a train with potato chips that left me laughing out loud,  completely shocked and utterly engaged.  Scenes like that make me love McEwan and the way he tells a story.  But through other parts of this book, I found myself bored and skimming.  The endless details on photons, electrons and photosynthesis just didn’t do it for me.  Even some of the long-winded descriptions of the characters left me skimming.  I don’t remember feeling that way with his other novels, but the two I’ve read were considerably shorter than Solar.

I don’t think Solar lived up to my expectations, but it certainly wasn’t a bad read.  I’d say borrow this one from the library if you have some time but don’t send it to the top of your “to read” list.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

