Skip to content

Friday Finds: Room by Emma Donoghue

November 19, 2010

I’m back working at the bookstore, just for the holidays. This time of year is so much fun and working in retail makes it even more fun (I’m not even being sarcastic). The thing about the bookstore during the holidays is that it’s crazy. Completely nuts. People  everywhere, holiday music playing too loudly, books missplaced, all registers going, customers freaking out, coworkers freaking out; I just love it.

In one of our main displays at the bookstore, Room by Emma Donoghue is sitting beside The Help (I simply love The Help). I hadn’t heard of Room so I asked a coworker about it. She really liked it and thought I would too. It seems like it could take a turn for the sentimental, but I’ve been assured by another coworker that it does not, so I think I will give it a read.

From Goodreads:

To five-year-old Jack, Room is the entire world. It’s where he was born, where he and his Ma eat and play and learn. At night, Ma puts him safely to sleep in the wardrobe, in case Old Nick comes.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma it’s the prison where she’s been held for seven years. Through determination, ingenuity, and fierce motherly love, Ma has created a life for her son. But Jack’s curiosity is building alongside Ma’s desperation — and she knows Room cannot contain either indefinitely. …

Told in the inventive, funny, and poignant voice of Jack, Room is a powerful story of a mother and son whose love lets them survive the impossible.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 11:12 am

    This book is very high on my TBR list, I just have to find a copy lol. I love your blog and have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award here: http://baffledbooks.wordpress.com/2010/11/27/in-which-i-get-a-shiny-award/

  2. November 28, 2010 12:49 am

    Room isn’t overly sentimental, I can second that opinion. Nonetheless, I had enough issues with it that it didn’t compare very flatteringly to the good stuff I’ve been reading lately. Room makes me want to read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time on the suspicion that it’s a better book in the same vein.
    Best of luck to you in this holiday retail season, Kimberly! I never understood my coworkers who flourished in that bedlam, but I always thought, more power to them.

  3. Darlyn permalink
    December 18, 2010 12:24 am

    I completely agree that Room isn’t overly sentimental. It slows down a bit near the end, but I think it’s worth reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

