Skip to content

Norwegian Wood, the movie

December 15, 2010

Normally I really dislike when books I love are made into movies because they are notoriously so untrue to the essence of the book.  The Girl with the Pearl Earring, a book I simply love, became a movie that had a completely different feeling and tone than the novel and that was utterly disappointing to me. And although I despise Jodi Picoult, I hear that My Sister’s Keeper the movie had a completely different ending than the book. How is that ok?

So anyway, Norwegian Wood, by my all time favorite author, Haruki Murakami, was just released as a film in Japan (with a March US release date) and I am over the m0on about it. I cannot wait to go see this movie and I can’t really figure out why. I should be completely freaked out that the film won’t do the book justice. I should be totally afraid that the characters I’ve painted in my head will be destroyed by the Hollywood of Japan. Suppose Murakami’s amazing words are all jumbled and ruined on the big screen?

I read an article which said, “The movie’s director, Tran Anh Hung, says every effort has been made to capture the essence of the writer’s work.” So I have faith they will be true to this amazing story and this incredible author. I’ll keep my fingers crossed until I leave the theater on that opening day in March 🙂

Check out the trailer:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 11:38 pm

    I loved the book and film version of Girl With the Pearl Earring. There was enough time though between reading the book and seeing the film that I didn’t notice any differences. I thought the film was visually stunning.

  2. Darlyn permalink
    December 18, 2010 12:40 am

    I completely agree. I believe the first two films in the Harry Potter franchise didn’t capture the essence of the books, but I think the seventh one did it quite well… Anyway, I’ve only read one book by Murakami (Kafka on the Shore), but I’m really looking forward to Norwegian Wood. The trailer looks great.

Leave a Reply

