Skip to content

Christmas Books

December 26, 2010

It’s December 26 and we’re awaiting a “blizzard” in Boston. More than a foot of snow has been forecast, so I’m sitting tight, making soup and planning a kahlua and hot cocoa kind of evening.

I had a wonderful Christmas – saw a friend I hadn’t seen in a while, spent lots of time with the family and ate tons of great food. My mom even made a special vegetarian main dish for Christmas dinner, which was amazingly wonderful and much appreciated by this vegetarian.

Of course I also got some terrific gifts, including some books:

A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami – Have you ever gotten a present that you are not expecting, but you are so surprised and excited and amazed at the thoughtfulness of the gift giver that you don’t even know what to say? That’s how this book went down and cannot wait to get into this novel.

The Elephant Vanishes by Haruki Murakami – Another Murakami??! Well, of course. My brother loves Murakami too and found this book of short stories, which sounds terrific.

Room by Emma Donoghue – I asked for this one 🙂 It’s popular at the bookstore and I’ve heard almost all good reviews of it so figured I’d give it a whirl.

Sacred Hearts by Sarah Dunant – I’ve read Dunant’s Virgin Blue so thought this novel about girl in an Italian convent in 1570 would be good.

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet by David Mitchell – This novel is set in Japan at the  turn of the 19th century and tells the story of an unlikely couple and their romance. Could be great, could be cheesy. We’ll see…

What books did you get for Christmas?

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 26, 2010 7:22 pm

    ROOM is also on by TBR list, although I don’t own it yet! I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

