Skip to content

Top 10 Books of 2010

January 2, 2011

Everyone does a top 10 list at the close of the year, so why can’t I? These are the top 10 books I READ in 2010, not the top 10 books published in 2010. Big difference πŸ™‚

10. Desperate Characters by Paula Fox – This novel reminded me of Revolutionary Road, which is hauntingly sad. I really enjoyed the quick pace and character development.

9. On the Road by Jack Kerouac – I had wanted to read this book for a while, since its a classic. I bought it while I was out in San Francisco early in 2010 and what I love about the book is that Sal and Dean remind me so much of my friends Nick and Wagner.

8. In the Land of Believers by Gina Welch – Love this book because of its stance on evangelical religion, always a favorite topic for me πŸ™‚

7. Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell – Super interesting read on how epidemics catch on and influence the masses. I find myself thinking about this book a lot when I encounter good marketing or a random product that has suddenly become outrageously popular.

6. Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner – Love this intro to everyone economics. This book was recommended by a friend and I thought it was fascinating. Like The Tipping Point, I find myself thinking of Freakonomics often in my everyday life.

5. Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami – Murakami, of course. Some great short stories, including some really perplexing ones, which had me thinking, discussing and pondering with friends and my brother.

4. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami – Murakami is my favorite and this book is the most “normal” of his I’ve ever read. Still, a fantastic read and it contains one of my favorite quotes, “If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”

3. Fingersmith by Sarah Waters – This book was given to me by my aunt and it was just great. Full of surprises and a very entertaining story.

2. Samurai’s Garden by Gail Tsukiyama – Recommendation from my brother that was one of the best books I’ve read in a while – unique story, awesome setting, great characters and so well written.

1. Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout – My friend Cara let me borrow Olive when I was visiting her in San Francisco. I was leery about the book, since it seemed to be just about everyone’s favorite, but this is a truly wonderful, heartfelt story, and Olive is one of the most dynamic and memorable characters I’ve ever encountered.

What was your favorite book you read in 2010?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 10:07 pm

    I agree wholeheartedly about Olive Kitteridge. I was also not expecting to love it, and I did!

  2. January 3, 2011 12:17 pm

    I really liked The Help and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (which you should definitely pick up if you haven’t!)

    Good list Kim, thanks for sharing!

  3. January 3, 2011 12:25 pm

    Adding them to my reading list!!

  4. January 3, 2011 2:53 pm

    Thanks Kim!! I loved the Help πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

