Skip to content

Bookswim

January 25, 2011
tags:

Have you heard of this?? It’s like Netflix for books! According to the Bookswim website, you just set up a list of books you’d like to read, they are mailed to you, you read them, then ship them back in the prepaid envelope.

It’s a bit pricier than Netflix, with the cheapest plan at $23.95/month and the most expensive at $59.95/month. But the most expensive plan is for 11 books at a time. I have no idea why you would want 11 books at a time. Even the least expensive plan is three books at a time, which is at least one – maybe two – books more than I need at a time. How about creating an economy plan which is just one book a month for $9.95? I’d be all for that.

Gift memberships are available, which would be great. Too bad I didn’t know about this before Christmas.

Have you tried Bookswim? Would you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 5:03 pm

    I had not heard of this! It sounds good in theory, but I think I’ll take my local library for the low, low price of free. My favorite thing is requesting books from my library’s consortium–they email me when the books arrive, and I can just run in and pick it up!

  2. January 29, 2011 2:28 am

    That 11-books plan is diabolical. It guarantees you’ll lose one or two, and have to purchase them. But who is that for, anyway? “I can read the Wheel of Time series in one month, and 60 bucks sounds like a good deal for that.”

Leave a Reply

