Skip to content

An Entire Class on Haruki Murakami!

February 3, 2011

This past summer I got a new job working at a university in Boston. There were a ton of great things about this new job, but one that I was pretty (dorkily) excited about was that I would be able to take classes here.

Imagine how excited I was when I discovered there is an entire course dedicated to Haruki Murakami (who I think is pretty much the best thing since sliced bread). So, obviously, I enrolled (alongside 40 undergrads) and am loving every minute of the class. The professor knows Murakami personally (!) and we are reading some of his best works:

  • Hear the Wind Sing
  • Pinball, 1973
  • A Wild Sheep Chase
  • Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World
  • Norwegian Wood
  • The Elephant Vanishes
  • The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

I’ve read Hard-Boiled, Norwegian Wood and Wind-Up Bird; my brother gave me Elephant Vanishes for Christmas; a friend gave me Wild Sheep Chase for Christmas; and I’d never heard of Pinball or Hear the Wind Sing.

In the class so far I’ve read Pinball, 1973 and am half way through Wild Sheep Chase. I’m excited to not only blog about what I thought about each work, but what the professor and the class discussed too. Stay tuned!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

