Skip to content

Happy Birthday Laura Ingalls!

February 7, 2011

I LOVED Laura Ingalls Wilder when I was little. Little House in the Big Woods was one of the first books that I just couldn’t put down, and immediately after finishing it, I read the other eight books in the series.

Today is Laura Ingalls Wilder’s birthday – she was born on February 7, 1867 just outside of Pepin, Wisconsin. I visited Pepin a few years ago and saw where the family’s log cabin once stood. I went to Wisconsin to visit my cousin who went to Marquette. After checking out the Miller Brewery (obviously), I dragged him clear across the state of Wisconsin to go to Pepin. He was a great sport about it and we had a pretty good time on the drive and checking out Pepin.

Laura and her family traveled in a covered wagon from Pepin to Independence, Kansas, where the events of Little House on the Prairie take place. Their home was technically on land still belonging to the Native Americans so they once again packed up the wagon and moved, this time to Walnut Grove, MN where On the Banks of Plum Creek takes place. Failed crops and illness forced the family to give up their home there and they moved to Burr Oak, Iowa, where they helped run a hotel. This time of Laura’s life is not chronicled in any of her books. The family finally settled in  DeSmet, South Dakota. After Laura married, she and her husband Almanzo and daughter Rose moved to Mansfield, Missouri. The family lived there, on the apple orchard they called Rocky Ridge Farm, for more than 60 years. Laura died three days after her 90th birthday on February 10, 1957.

Long story not short is that I love the Little House books. The series is one of the earliest works I can remember reading and I think that it set me on a life long path of loving books. So Happy Birthday Laura!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 7:25 pm

    What a nice tribute Kim! I also loved these books, it was nice to escape to a different time.

Leave a Reply

