Skip to content

Brunch Book Club

April 10, 2011

At my last job I always chatted books with a few different friends. We made recommendations to each other, swapped books, and became friends on Goodreads. Eventually, a few of us left the company (me included), but we stayed in touch and still talked books. Finally we thought, why don’t we make it official? So we created the Brunch Book Club, mostly because we like to eat brunch. There are six of us and our first meeting was last month.

We got together to have brunch at Pour House on Boylston and talk about The Help. I have to admit – there was a lot of brunch and just a little book, but we had a great time. It was really cool to see who liked the book, who didn’t, what parts we remembered best, which characters we hated, what parts we loved. These are a bunch of smart girls, and it was great to hear their thoughts and ideas about a book I really loved.

We decided our next book will be Water for Elephants, which I know was really popular from working at the bookstore, but I’ve never read. It’s been a gorgeous weekend. My boyfriend and I went to Portland, ME, saw some lighthouses, found some adorable bookstores and coffee shops, walked around Old Port, and of course took some time to read outside. So I started the novel this weekend and am loving it so far. Stay tuned for a review and more on the Brunch Book Club!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 3:54 am

    I hope Longfellow Books was one of the bookstores you visited in Portland. We have lots of used bookstores but Longfellow’s really the only “new” bookstore left right downtown. I was there a couple of weeks ago and was thrilled to see their display of Madras Press teeny tiny square books – since I was the one who suggested they stock them.

    And I lived in Boston 20 years ago. Small world.

  2. April 11, 2011 9:25 am

    We did go to Longfellow! Such a great local bookstore!

Trackbacks

  1. Read and Watch: The Help (2011) « Oscartini

Leave a Reply

