Skip to content

I’m just wild about Harry

October 13, 2011

When I worked at Borders and dressed up as Hermoine for the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows release party,  I googled “harry potter” to find out what it was I was dressing as.

I knew that people were crazy for Harry Potter, but I really had no clue why: It was a CHILDREN’S book for Pete’s sake. I thought there was no way that they could be as good as everyone said – I figured everyone else was just nuts, not me. So years later I was finally convinced to read the series, mostly because Andrew loved them so much I figured he couldn’t possibly be wrong. (And his horror that I hadn’t read them was becoming a bit annoying.)

So here I am now, head over heels in love with Harry. The books are truly amazing. The series does start out as kids’ books, but as you move on in the series, they grow more and more in depth, complicated, well-written, clever, and fascinating. As one of my book club friends said, JK Rowling is the wealthiest woman in England for a reason: she is amazing. I completely agree.

What JK Rowling has done is awesome. Book #1, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, is definitely a kid’s book, but still a really good one. Harry is 11 and he finds out he’s a wizard. He can do magic, he gets to go to an amazing school, he meets new friends – who wouldn’t dream this could happen to them? All through the series, I found myself wishing I was a wizard too and I could go to Hogwarts. Who couldn’t use a summoning charm some days? And an invisibility cloak?  That could come in might handy.

As you move along the series, Harry grows up, but Rowling realized, so does the reader. As Harry moves into his teens, things at Hogwarts aren’t quite as fun and breezy as there were in The Philosopher’s Stone. The Dark Lord comes to power and there is an all-out war on the wizarding world. Harry, Ron, and Hermoine are faced with tackling the most powerful dark wizard of all time and Rowling doesn’t make it a painless task. People are hurt, bad things happen, things don’t go the way we want them to. People die. It’s a really messy, complicated, heartbreaking story. But it’s super intricate and well-thought out and cleverly written. Things that happened in book 2, creep up again in book 6. Things that were mentioned in passing in book 3, come back full force in book 7. I can’t imagine how Rowling crafted this story – she must have mapped out the entire progression of the books before tackling even the first. She does an amazing job of tying thing together and making a seamless story.

I am so very happy I read this series; I can’t recommend it highly enough. If there is anyone out there who still hasn’t read them, take it from me, the Harry Potter series is completely amazing and you will be so surprised at how much you love them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 10:02 am

    The books are amazing!

  2. October 17, 2011 3:50 pm

    Love that you love Harry! Can’t wait to discuss at #BBCE! Also, I love that you thought everyone ELSE was crazy, too funny! =)

Leave a Reply

