Skip to content

Alot of Grammar

November 10, 2011

Sometimes other people’s grammar and punctuation really bugs me. I try not to be incredibly annoyed when someone says they went their, or that they like it to. I know other people who have this same problem (I’m looking at you, Jen) and it made me happy to read about a whole breed of us grammar-lovers out there in Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation

But by far the coolest example of grammar-crazed loveliness is Alot by Hyperbole and a Half. Hyperbole and a Half, if you don’t know, is an incredibly funny blog/comic that you need to read immediately. (Start with The Party because it is the funniest thing you will ever read in your whole life and you can then die happy.)

Back to Alot. Alot is the monster-like animal Hyperbole and a Half has created that helps her deal with the unfortunate use of this non-word. There are awesome drawings to illustrate her take:

Illustration by Hyperbole and a Half

Illustration by Hyperbole and a Half

Illustration by Hyperbole and a Half

Oh Allie at Hyperbole and Half, you have made the most awesome example ever of my grammatical obsession. And I think you are the cleverest, funniest, possibly more grammar-neurotic than even Jen, person I (don’t technically) know. Now I’m heading back to Hyperbole and a Half to read about how dogs don’t understand basic concepts like moving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    October 30, 2012 5:11 pm

    Okay, I cannot believe I didn’t see this until now! Good thing I was scouring your blog for my next book pick. I was just having a conversation TODAY about how much I cannot stand reading things written by complete idiots who use too many commas and don’t spell-check proof-read their work. I really have to hold myself back from printing out their e-mails, marking them up with red pen, and sending them back for revisions. Ha ha ha!!!

  2. Jen permalink
    October 30, 2012 5:19 pm

    Ok, maybe I needed to proof-read that. “spell-check OR proof-read” oops!

Leave a Reply

