Skip to content

Just say no (to Amazon)

January 22, 2012

I knew it would happen eventually, but now that it’s here I am kind of surprised. I am the owner of a Kindle. And I like it. But what I don’t like is not buying books at my local independent bookstore. While at Porter Square Books the other day I saw a sign that said:

A bookstore the size of Porter Square Books employs 11.6 full time equivalent employees for every $1 million in sales. Walmart employs 5 people for every $1 million in sales. Amazon employs 1.

I don’t like supporting Amazon; I would prefer to spend my money at Porter Square Books or Harvard Bookstore or Brookline Booksmith. I am proud to say that I have not bought a book from Amazon for my Kindle Fire and now I know a way that I will never have to: the IndieBound Reader App saves the day.

The app is easy to download on your Fire (you just have to allow outside applications, which is easy to do).  Once you have the app, you can shop with the awesome indie bookstore of your choice directly through the app. You can still highlight and add notes and change the display settings like font size and brightness. Step by step details on how to get the app on your Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet are here. If you have an iPad or another iOS device, there is an app for you too. Check out all the details here.

It’s really important that we support our local stores, so I shop local as often as I can. I know Amazon may be a few dollars cheaper, but it’s completely worth it to me to spend a couple extra dollars in order to support my community. Don’t you agree?

One Comment leave one →
  1. jumpingpolarbear permalink
    January 22, 2012 8:43 pm

    Nothing like going in to an acutal bookstore and rummaging through the shelves to find a great book. Screw amazon 🙂

Leave a Reply

