Skip to content

Is no one buying books anymore?

February 29, 2012

The other day I stumbled upon an article about things you learn when you own a bookstore. At least two or three times in the article the author noted that people are throwing away their bookshelves. I hadn’t thought about it, but it must be true.

I just got a Kindle Fire for Christmas and Andrew got a Kindle. I was reading Murakami’s 900+ page 1Q84 and found myself never carrying it with me to work because it’s HUGE. So, I bought it on my Kindle (on the awesome IndieReader app) and I’m trucking through it. And when I went to Arizona for work recently, I grabbed the Kindle, loaded with 1Q84 and some other books and entertained myself for hours on the flight.

But my house is still overflowing with books.

Andrew’s dad just built us these awesome bookshelves, which are packed, and still our other bookshelf is overflowing. We decided it’s time to donate some of the less-read books.

So although I have a Kindle, and boy does it make reading 1Q84 a lot easier, I also have a hard copy (two in fact) of the book. Because I love the way books look in my home. I love bookshelves. I love leafing through a paperback. I love browsing bookstores. I love discovering new books. I love picking up a book I’ve read a million times. I love seeing notes I’ve left in the margins.

Our bookshelves will stay full. (But my Kindle is going to be packed too.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

