Skip to content

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami (Finally!)

May 21, 2012

I have been reading 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami FOREVER. I got it back in October, when it was released in the US and started it right away. But then I took a class that required some reading, and my book club picked a great book, and then I wanted to read something lighter, and jeez, seven months later, here I am.

This monster of a book (928 pages) was published in Japan in three volumes and I really wish that it had followed that formula in the US. I just felt that it was so much – so much to take in, so much to understand, so much to contemplate. I would have loved to have some time between volumes to digest it. But, I did read it in seven months, so I guess that is plenty of time to digest.

The book takes place in – you guessed it – 1984 and focuses on two main characters, Aomame and Tengo. Aomame is a fitness instructor who moonlights as an assassin of domestically violent men, while Tengo is a math teacher and an aspiring writer. The two went to elementary school together but haven’t seen each other since, and chapters alternate between both characters’ points of view.

Aomame and Tengo separately and inadvertently become involved with a religious cult called Sakigake and end up in a universe where, under two moons, little people weave air chrysalises that then hatch dohtas. Sound bizarre? Well, that’s when you know you’re reading a Murakami.

I really liked 1Q84 , and while there was a crazy alternate world, lots of food and music, and awesome characters, I felt that there was much more of a love story than we usually see in Murakami’s works. I didn’t love that (because I don’t love love stories), but I liked the characters so much and I was rooting for them for so long, that I guess it fit well with the story. I would of course recommend this novel – just make sure you have plenty of time set aside for it 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Puneet permalink
    June 11, 2012 3:37 pm

    “I don’t like love stories” – I could almost hear you talk in that sentence! 🙂 Miss you, Kimmie!

  2. Puneet permalink
    June 11, 2012 3:44 pm

    Of course, I meant to say “I don’t LOVE love stories.” – Boo me.

Leave a Reply

