Skip to content

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

September 18, 2012

We were out for drinks one night for a coworker’s last day and no less than three people were talking about this book. I hadn’t heard of it before and I wasn’t sure what it was about, so I didn’t pay much attention. But later that night a friend suggested we gather a few people together and start a mini book club and her first book suggestion was none other than the most popular book of the night, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

I borrowed the book from another coworker and started reading. The chapters alternate between Nick Dunne’s point of view and diary entries from his wife Amy, who has recently gone missing. Nick’s odd behavior while his wife is missing makes it obvious that Flynn wants us to suspect him and Amy’s peachy-keen diary entries reinforce that Nick is the bad guy. It’s all a little too obvious.

I predicted pretty early on that things were much more complicated than Flynn was leading us to believe. And that’s what really bothered me about this book: I’m not sure who would be surprised by the “big turn” Gone Girl takes. And if you weren’t expecting some sort of surprise, didn’t you think the book was incredibly unoriginal – a textbook case of a husband who murders his wife?

I didn’t like Flynn’s writing very much (I felt like she got a huge kick out of using “bad” words), but I have to admit that I did keep reading. After the main twist, I did want to find out for sure how things would be resolved and the ending wasn’t what I had thought or hoped would happen. But in the end I just didn’t like Gone Girl and I wouldn’t recommend it. On to the next book!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

